CRIFM Home Page
CRIFM Home Page
CRIFM Home Page
CRIFM Home Page

Highlights In Brief
April 13-14, 2007
Collins Road Theatres, Marion

  • 123 entries
  • 42 Official Selections
  • 11 Gold and 12 Silver Eddys awarded, plus Audience Choice and Iowa Film Office Iowa Connection Eddys. Prizes were trophies, software, IMPA scholarships and other valuable prizes
  • Special Guest Seminars: Music and the Mix, Gerard Estella, Filmmaking on Every Scale, Max Allan Collins, Behind "The Final Season," Tony Wilson, Steve Schott and Kent Stock.

2009 Cedar Rapids Independent
Film Festival

April 3-4, 2009
Collins Road Theatres
Marion, Iowa 52402

Festival Archives
2001 Festival
2002 Festival
2003 Festival
2004 Festival
2005 Festival
2006 Festival
2007 Festival
2008 Festival

Photo Gallery

2007 CRI Film Festival

2004 Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival
April 13-14, 2007
Collins Road Theatres
1462 Twixt Town Road, Marion, IA 52302

The Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival was held Friday and Saturday, April 7 and 8, at the Collins Road Theatres, Marion, Iowa. The festival featured 55 films from local, regional and national filmmakers, as well three filmmaking seminars. Nick Bertelsen from Cinequipt, and award-winning Director of Photography John Houghton discussed low-budget techniques, John Reasoner showed how to get the best sound for your independent film, and Scott Beck and Bryan Woods discussed their past work as well as upcoming developments with MTV Films.

Eddy Awards Results

Eddy Awards were presented at the Saturday evening ceremony. Student Gold Eddy winners received an Iowa Motion Picture Association $250 scholarship. Pro-Am Gold Eddy winners received Gorilla Pro 4 production management software from Jungle Software. Professional Gold Eddy winners received previsualization software FrameForge 3D Studio

Student Freestyle
Silver: “Mite” - Vanessa Vobis
Gold: “eaten” - Anne Haydock

Student Documentary
Silver: “Notes: A Noteworthy Story of Music” - Adam Thompson, Matt Clark
Gold: “Me & Mom” - Mark Huelsbeck

Student Short Form
Silver: “Count on Me: First Name, Last Name” - Josh Guffey
Gold: “Working Title” - James Niebuhr

Student Long Form
Silver: “Fate Twisted Simply” - Steven Coulter, Michael P. Noens, Brian Wohl
Gold: “The Bride Wore Blood: A Contemporary Western” - Scott Beck, Bryan Woods

Pro-Am Freestyle
Gold: “The ReBirth of Lucretia” - Robert Monson

Pro-Am Short Form
Silver: “Date Rape” - Mike Saunders, Jason Bolinger
Gold: “Later Than it Seems” - Jared Vincenti

Pro-Am Feature
Silver: “Through the Night” - Mike Saunders, Jason Bolinger
Gold: “The Chemistry of Dating” - Jenny Stolte, Matt Olson

Professional Freestyle
Silver: “Stop the Violence” - Nathan Stoll
Gold: “Destrophy: This is Not My Life” - Ben Hill

Professional Documentary
Silver: “Una Promesa De Salud” - Ty Clancey
Gold: “A Little Salsa on the Prairie: The Changing Character of Perry, Iowa” - Kent Newman, Jody Swilk

Professional Short Form
Silver: “Genesis Antipode” - John Robinson
Gold: “Skippy Love Chicago” - Dan Hale, Joseph Zerull

Professional Feature
Silver: “Almost Destiny” - Ben Swan
Gold: “Indelible” - Rick Amundso

Audience Choice
“The Chemistry of Dating” - Jenny Stolte, Matt Olson

Iowa Film Office Iowa Connection Eddy
“The Bride Wore Blood: A Contemporary Western” - Scott Beck, Bryan Woods. The winner receives a $500 rebate, from the Iowa Film Office, on production goods and services purchased in Iowa.

Special Guest Seminars

Music and the Mix, Gerard Estella: Estella will lead a seminar on using music to set the mood, and achieving an ideal final audio mix. He is an audio expert, having spent several years producing recordings, playing with major recording artists and designing soundscapes for commercial and entertainment film and video productions. Estella owns North 40.

Filmmaking on Every Scale, Max Allan Collins: The mulitple Eddy Award winner returns to the Festival to talk about his experiences working on films ranging from small independent productions, to big-budget Hollywood movies. Collins wrote and directed the Lifetime movie "Mommy" (1996) and a 1997 sequel, "Mommy's Day." He wrote "The Expert," a 1995 HBO World Premiere, and wrote and directed the innovative made-for-DVD feature, "Real Time: Siege at Lucas Street Market" (2000). "Shades of Noir" (2004), an anthology of his short films, includes his award-winning documentary, "Mike Hammer's Mickey Spillane." Collins' graphic novel "Road to Perdition" was the basis of the Academy Award-winning film starring Tom Hanks, directed by Sam Mendes. Shooting on a feature film based on his acclaimed novel, The Last Quarry, began in January 2007 from the author's screenplay.

Behind "The Final Season," Tony Wilson, Steve Schott and Kent Stock: Take a unique look at the movie that started as one man's vision 15 years ago, and became a major Iowa film event that impacted thousands statewide in summer 2006. Hear tales of production from the visionary Tony Wilson, veteran producer Steve Schott, and the real-life inspiration for the story, Kent Stock. Topics of discussion will include, acquiring rights to a true story, working with local communities' support, the pros and cons of producing in Iowa, tax incentive legislation, independent filmmaking dos and don'ts, and more. This seminar will also include a special screening of selected scenes of the "Final Season."

Eddy Awards

For us, Eddy has dual meaning. First, it pays tribute to Thomas Alva Edison who, among other things, was a pioneer in motion pictures. Second, the noun eddy is defined as “a current moving contrary to the direction of the main current.” Independent filmmakers often go against the “current” of trends in mainstream cinema.

Gold and Silver Eddy Awards were presented in Professional, Pro-Am (new in 2007) and Student categories for features, shorts, documentaries, experimental films, and audience choice. Professional Gold winners received FrameForge3D Studio 2, Pro-Am Gold winners got Gorilla 4, and Student Gold winners received a $250 Iowa Motion Picture Association Scholarship. We also presented the Iowa Film Office Iowa Connection Eddy for the film that best represented"Iowa." This winner received a certificate good for $500 worth of filmmaking goods and services purchased in Iowa.


KCRG IMPA Jungle Software OnMedia

The Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival was created to provide a venue for Iowa filmmakers to screen their work for peers and general audiences. The organization’s primary goals are to encourage Iowa independent filmmakers to continue improving their craft, to provide a place to specifically showcase Iowa-connected films, present a unique cultural event to the community, and to offer networking opportunities for the purpose of building the Iowa Filmmaking Industry.

Each year’s work has covered many genres and skill levels, including comedies, dramas, and documentaries by amateur, professional and student filmmakers. To help filmmakers improve their craft, industry experts judge the films, then later meet with the contestants for individual critiquing.

For full results of each year, see the Festival Archives Menu in the sidebar.




Copyright ゥ 2008 by Cedar Rapids Independent Filmmakers.
All rights reserved.