Cedar Rapids Independent Film Makers  

Cedar Rapids Independent Filmmakers Announces
The 15th Annual Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival Award Winners

Cedar Rapids Independent Filmmakers hosted the 15th Annual Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival on Friday and Saturday, April 17 and 18 at the Collins Road Theatres in Marion, Iowa. The Festival showcased the work of filmmakers from across the state and around the world. In accordance with CRIFM's stated mission, all the films screened featured stories or filmmakers with strong connections to the Hawkeye State.

CRIFM’s Director Scott Chrisman was impressed with this year’s slate of films. “Iowa’s filmmakers continue to tell engaging stories,” he said. “Even in challenging times, they still manage to bring the Iowa spirit to the screen.”

Gold and Silver Eddy Awards were presented to Professional, Professional-Amateur and Student filmmakers in Feature, Short Form, Documentary, and Freestyle categories.

And the Eddys went to . . .

Student Short

Silver: "I Love The Movies" edited and mixed by Kyle Rausch
Gold: "Masks" produced by Jacqueline Fashimpaur

Student Long

Silver: "Them" directed by Kara Richards and Davis Evans
Gold: "The Captain" directed, produced, and written by Adam Gonshorowski and Catherine Wolf

Student Freestyle

Silver: "Blackbird" filmed by Anna Steenson
Gold: "Skateboard Montage 16" directed and edited by Trevor Spidle

Student Documentary

Silver: "The Battle Continues: The Story of James Stephenson" directed, produced, and edited by Samantha Reyes and Mariah Duran
Gold: "Musickland" directed by Cameron Bargerstock and Jacob Rosdail

Pro-Am Short

Silver: "Diary of a Terrorist" written and directed Atiq Rahman
Gold: "15 Rounds" directed and written by Jake Roth

Pro-Am Freestyle

Silver: "The Standing People" cinematography by Kevin Railsback
Gold: "An Iowa Morning" cinematography by Kevin Railsback

Pro-Am Documentary

Silver: "Black Hawk's Final Resting Place" written and directed by Russ Fry
Gold: "Any Kid Anywhere: Sex Trafficking Survivor Stories" produced by Cathy O’Keeffe

Pro Freestyle

Gold: "Oh Mama" directed by Dennis Florine and Michael Noens

Pro Documentary

Silver: "Letters Home to Hero Street" produced by Lora Adams, and Kelly and Tammy Rundle
Gold: "The Simple Gift of Walnut Grove" directed by John Richard

Pro Feature

Silver: "A Place for Heroes" directed by Cecilia Podhajsky and Scott Thompson
Gold: "After Life" directed by Gretchen Joy and Scott Thompson

Collins Road Theatres Scholarship

"I Love The Movies" edited and mixed by Kyle Rausch

Iowa Connection Award

"After Life" directed by Gretchen Joy and Scott Thompson

Audience Choice Award

"Letters Home to Hero Street" produced by Lora Adams, and Kelly and Tammy Rundle

About the Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival

The Eddy Awards are named after Thomas Alva Edison who, among many other pursuits, was a pioneer in motion picture technology. The term eddy is also defined as "a current moving contrary to the direction of the main current," which is a suitable description for independent filmmakers, who often go against the current trends in mainstream cinema.

For additional information about Cedar Rapids Independent Filmmakers, please visit www.crifm.org, e-mail Scott Chrisman at scott@crifm.org.

The Cedar Rapids Independent Film Festival was created to provide a venue for Iowa filmmakers to screen their work for peers and general audiences. The organization's primary goals are to encourage Iowa independent filmmakers to continue improving their craft, to provide a place to specifically showcase Iowa-connected films, present a unique cultural event to the community, and to offer networking opportunities for the purpose of building the Iowa film industry.
Collins Road Theatres KCRG TV-9 Produce Iowa